Django Deployed Heroku - Live - Hubtree Live - Success!

Django Deployed Heroku - Live - Hubtree Live - Success!

If you've followed me up to this point you'll know that I've been building a new platform called Hubtree and that it runs the Django Framework + PostgreSQL and I've been trying to deploy it to Heroku.

The last article I wrote that I had finally managed to achieve the build process on Heroku! Yippee!.... Not for long as then I realised I had database issues trying to connect over to my addon PostGreSQL database.

The last few days I had taken a break and in my world at least I find you need to have a healthy balance and so I started doing a bit of gardening. I returned this morning from 6am to start having an hack at it to see if I could resolve the issues and get it working.

Turns out.. I forgot to migrate the database over to my online one!

Python3 manage.py makemigrations
Python3 manage.py migrate

I had forgotten to migrate from my local PostSQL database to my online version... Simple mistake to make for anyone!

Once I had done this, my application then worked locally, but then I still had issues trying to get it to display online due to SSL settings (which I still need to review on).

After also playing around with Heroku's CLI online and re-configuring a few settings, I kept pushing, until I hit my last push at version 17....!

My application deployed, successfully onto Heroku and now is live to access. At last I have something to show online for it haha! Don't get me wrong, it's far from being built and complete but now I can keep pushing and building the application faster!

success.png

Hubtree on Heroku

Finally success in small steps, it is possible to get there in the end! As I mentioned in my last article I was thinking about launching my own Youtube Channel. After this week and thinking about it I decided to create my Channel yesterday in which i'll be covering Full Stack Web Development + Gardening (for novices and lone wolfs). YT.png

You can also follow me on Facebook

Once I've simplied Django I will be realising some videos on Youtube + Facebook shortly to make full stack alot easier to get into (hopefully)

That's all in the mean time hopefully will be updating the blog and YouTube channel on a weekly basis :)

Any questions, just pm or comment :)